Everything You Need To Know About IGCSE

What is the IGCSE curriculum? 

The Multinational General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is based on the British curriculum (GCSE), although it has been tailored to a more international student population. This curriculum is primarily examination-based, and it is examined by the school’s designated examination board. Cambridge Assessment International Education and Pearson Edexcel are the most well-known. The IGCSE Curriculum tries to be as open as possible to students from a wide range and variety of language backgrounds, hence it provides over 70 disciplines, including 30 languages. It also allows students to complete their studies in their native tongue.

Cambridge International Examinations (CIE) created the IGCSE curriculum, which is the world’s most popular international qualification for students aged 14 to 16. This curriculum is studied by learners in over 140 countries across the world, and the IGCSE is now taught in over 2,500 schools in the United Kingdom as it continues to grow in popularity and enrolment.

What are the benefits of IGCSE?

When it comes to choosing institutions, most international universities favour students who have completed at least one IGCSE. This checks off the evaluation approach that international institutions are looking for, with problem-solving capabilities, time management skills, practical and verbal skills, initiative and application of skills, learning, and understanding. Furthermore, the IGCSE Curriculum provides a global perspective to studies while also being appealing. It’s more of a leap from a state to an international level, because the state board emphasises rote learning, whereas the IGCSE Curriculum emphasises application-oriented learning.

How many subjects are students allowed to take?

Students can take a minimum of five and a maximum of 14 topics in the IGCSE curriculum, with the “core” curriculum consisting of a First Language, a Second Language, Mathematics, and one or more scientific subjects. The core subjects of the IGCSE Curriculum are English, Mathematics, and Sciences. Furthermore, students have the option of studying other topics such as Social Science, Arts, and Technology. The IGCSE Curriculum is also very flexible for schools and comes with good tools and training. One IGCSE Certificate will be granted for each topic. For example, if a student enrols in five disciplines, he or she will receive five certificates. However, the number of subjects required may differ from one school to the next.

Why choose IGCSE?

The IGCSE Curriculum, with its application-based and more practical programmes, assists students in preparing for admission to international colleges. The IGCSE curriculum is intended to benefit both teachers and students, whereas the Cambridge assessment is intended to provide a framework for both. Alternative education students and adult learners are also permitted to take the exam. Additionally, certain Cambridge schools enable private pupils to take the IGCSE examination.

Not just that, but the IGCSE Curriculum is also adaptable and flexible, as it is designed to inspire students to generate new ideas and resources. Learners are encouraged to analyse the subject material to obtain a deeper knowledge since professors give the framework of the syllabus. Because the IGCSE Curriculum discourages rote learning, this will also encourage pupils to be more self-sufficient with little monitoring. As a result, the IGCSE Curriculum is perfect for pupils because they do not need to memorise a stack of notes. It’s also for students who want to relocate and continue their studies in a foreign country.

For now, you can let your kids have an IGCSE certificate, check out IGCSE Malaysia

IGCSE Malaysia
Uncalled For Improv